Omelette

If there is one thing that is very easy to find locally it’s eggs. I happen to get mine from a family member just down the road who raises chickens but you can find yours all over the place! You can find them at your local farmers market http://www.nhfma.org/ or at your local farm stand. In Northwood NH a young man named Nick raises his own chickens and calls them Nick’s Chicks (very cute) http://www.sugarmommasmaple.com/. You can find them where ever you can find Sugar Momma. Now as far as my morning Omelette, I used tomatoes from my garden and sharp cheddar cheese from Cabot in Vermont. You can find that right in your local grocery store.

Tomato Omelette

4 Large Eggs
1/2 Cup diced tomatoes
3 Tablespoons Sharp Cheddar Cheese
Salt and Pepper to Taste
1 Pat Butter

Heat Large Skillet on medium high heat (I prefer cast iron) and add butter. When the butter is bubbling just a bit, add the eggs and cook until the edges start to set.  Put tomatoes and cheese on one half of the eggs and cook further on low heat until you are able to get spatula under the eggs.  Flip the half with nothing on it onto the tomatoes and cheese.  Let cook a bit and then turn over the whole thing and let sit in the pan a minute or so.  If you aren’t an expert at flipping a big omelette, just cut it in half to do it.  It’s taste just as good, trust me.  I had mine with a big piece of home made wheat bread!

And why do I use cast iron?  First of all I like the way it cooks, it’s more even and you get trace amounts of iron from it so there is no anemia in this house!  Finally another plus is well building and keeping strength, they are heavy and if you toss around those pans enough you will build and keep muscle in your arms….who knew?

About The Yankee Frugalist

My husband and I have been married for thirty years and raised two girls who are now raising their own families. In our past, we have suffered some life-changing setbacks. Due to a job loss we lost our home and had to start over again in the early nineties. It was nearly five years to the day we claimed bankruptcy to when we purchased the house we lived in now. And when I tell you we did not have one quarter left over after the closing I am dead serious. We ran on a wing and a prayer back then. In 1999 I returned to college, earning my degree in Human resources (which took me some time, I had to have a knee replacement in the middle of it). For many years we struggled with finances. We made some horrid mistakes along the way too. I love to share all the things I have learned over the years on how to make it through!

Leave a comment